gypsysunshine

Make one thing every day, wander like a gypsy, and shine happiness like the sun

The Bonesetter’s Daughter-Quotes from Part Two (continued) and Part Three

on September 15, 2013

Although I finished this a few days ago and am on to new books and projects, I wanted to complete this task…

Effortless

Don’t fight differences of meaning. Find where you mean the same.

You should think about your character.  Know where you are changing, how you will be changed, what cannot be changed back again.

He kissed my eyes one at a time.  “This is beauty, and this is beauty, and you are beauty, and love is beauty and we are beauty.  We are divine, unchanged by time.”

Part Three-One

“Why you give up?  Something hard maybe worth more than easy.”

So many combinations, like Chinese names and characters, the same elements, seemingly simple, reconfigured in different ways.

Expiration was simply a release.

Dementia was like a truth serum.

Ruth wondered what made people happy.  Could you find happiness in a place?  In another person?  What about happiness for herself?  Did you simply have to know what you wanted and reach for it through a fog?

Some notions of time are irrelevant.

“You’re like someone who has cataracts and wants to see, but you refuse to have an operation because you’re afraid you’ll go blind.  You’d rather go blind slowly than take a chance.  And then you can’t see that the answer is right in front of you.”

 

Two

She was drawn to them all, (books) these prisms of other lives and times.  And she felt sympathetic, as if they were dogs at the animal shelter, abandoned without reason, hopeful that they would be loved still.  

“I don’t think I know an important part of you.  You keep secrets inside you.  You hide.  It’s as though I’ve never seen you naked, and I’ve had to imagine what you look like behind drapes.”

“Sometimes I feel like I’m a pair of eyes and ears, and I’m just trying to stay safe and make sense of what’s happening.  I know what to avoid, what to worry about.  I’m like those kids who live with gunfire going off around them.  I don’t want pain.  I don’t want to die.  But I don’t have anything left inside me to figure out where I fit in or what I want.  If I want anything, it’s to know what’s possible to want.”

Three

Mystery is a wonderful part of life.

“He’s been in love with her since she was a little girl,” Art said.  “She’s not just a source of temporary companionship.  He loves everything about her, and that includes who she was, who she is, who she will be.  He knows more about her than most couples who are married.”

 

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and I hope you read it all and enjoy it too.  Angels come in many forms if we know how to see them 🙂

Leave a Reply

TIME

Current & Breaking News | National & World Updates

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Okaeri, Love

capturing life as it happens

The Jiggly Bits

...because life is funny.

Best of Crochet

Sharing the most awesome crochet ideas!

Crochet by Gray

Scarves, Shawls, Bracelets, Hats, and much more

The Cynical Gardener

The most Dangerous plant to sleep under is the water lilly

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

Hands on Bowie

You know, it's cool for cats.

WIPs 'N Chains

Kim Guzman, Crochet and Knit Design

gwenniesgarden

a blog about my garden and my soft spot for cacti and succulents, travelling and art

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

The Misfortune Of Knowing

Books, Writing, & the Law

Kathryn Rubidoux

The things I make, create, and photograph.

